skip to content

Daily intake levels

The Daily Intake Guide levels have been developed in line with the official Food Standards Code - which is produced by a government department known as Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ).

The Food Stardards Code regulates the composition, labelling and safety of the foods found in your supermarket.

According to the code, a balanced diet for an average adult may be made up of the following nutrients, each day:

Energy8,700 kj
Protein50 g
Fat70 g
Saturated fatty acids24 g
Carbohydrate310 g
Sodium2,300 mg
Sugars90 g
Dietary fibre30 g

The Food Standards Code lists the above reference values for daily intakes based on an average adult diet of 8700kJ.

However - an individual's intake may vary dependent on their energy needs and lifestyle. If you would like to know what the right energy intake is for you - use the Daily Intake Guide calculator.

Calculate your daily energy needs Back to home